User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

Luis Leite was born on carnival night in 1973 in Porto, and assumes Grifu as alias. Holds a M.Sc. in Multimedia from Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto and his an assistant professor at Escola Superior de Musica, Artes e Espetáculo (ESMAE) do Instituto Politécnico do Porto (IPP) teaching multimedia and animation classes at Audiovisual (TCAV) and Multimedia (TCM) degree´s. 
He is currently a Digital Media Ph.D. student from UT Austin | Portugal,  Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, and holds a scholarship from Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia (FCT) researching in the digital puppetry field. Member of Porto Interactive Center (PIC) and affiliated with Instituto Telecomunicações (IT / FEUP) as published papers like: "ShapeYour Body", "Virtual Marionette", "AnimActor" or "Marionetas Virtuais". Presented his work in conferences CHI'12, IUI'12,ACE'11 and in events Future Places, Imagens do Real Imaginado, Noite Europeia dos Investigadores. 
Started as a computer programmer back in 1990  building Bulletin Board Services (BBS) and proceed exploring audiovisual and multimedia; Worked for companies like Animago and Miragem in the fields of animation, programming, post-production and music. Participated in the production and development of TV Series: Ace London (Live Action plus animation - Emmy award selection), Batatoon (children entertainment), Rita Catita (performance animation), Little Stars (children animated series); animated films: "História de um Caramelo" (3D short film) or "Zé dos Pássaros" (2D short film); performing arts: "Prometeu" (shadow puppet play) or "Frágil" (puppet play). The main interests are in interface design (HCI), 2D/3D digital animation, digital puppetry, post-production and computer programming. +info at homepage:, videos at Vimeo:, research project at

External Links


  1. ⬚
  2. Beatriz Parente
  3. Pedro Oliveira
  4. Catarina Lopes
  5. Richard Silva
  6. Carina Marise
  7. Helder Fiúza
  8. José Miguel
  9. Marta Carvalho
  10. Rita Pinto
  11. BaaL
  12. YOKE
  13. Pedro Mota Teixeira
  14. leonel cunha
  15. Luís Félix