Arizona State University

Faculty reading from the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing's "Desert Nights, Rising Stars Writers Conference"

Introduction by Hugh Martin

March 3-6, 2011
ASU, Tempe campus

Tony Hoagland has published four collections of poetry. His latest book of poems, Unincorporated Persons In The Late Honda Dynasty, was published by Graywolf in January, 2010. Other books include: Sweet Ruin, winner of the 1992 Brittingham Prize; Donkey Gospel, winner of the 1998 James Laughlin award; and What Narcissism Means to Me, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. His other recognitions include a Jackson Poetry Prize, the Folger Library’s O.B. Hardisson Award for achievement as poet and teacher, and the Mark Twain Award award for humor in American poetry. He teaches in the writing program at the University of Houston and in the Warren Wilson low residency MFA program. In 2005 his book of essays about poetry and craft, called Real Sofistakashun, was brought out from Graywolf.

*Apologies for the video quality, the evening readings were very dimly lit and the video required extensive post-processing.*


Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…