Saarbruecken / Germany

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

Hochschule der Bildenden Kuenste Saar // Academy of Fine Arts Saar

Founded in 1989, the Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar (HBK Saar) has quickly become one of the most important creative centers in the Greater Region (Saarland-Western

Through an open study structure and the interdisciplinary orientation of all degree programs as well as the emphasis on a project-basis teaching method, the HBK offers its 300 students a challenging, comprehensive, and interdisciplinary education in established and emergent fields of artistic practice.

Courses are offered by the renowned artists, designers, and
researchers on staff as well as international guest lecturers.

Exhibitions and other project presentations regularly develop out of the teaching and the research projects at HBK Saar.

Maintaining its commitment to openness and creative experimentation, the HBK Saar has built upon the tradition of the Saarland Art School associated with famous names like Boris Kleint, Frans Masereel, Peter Raacke, Robert Sessler or Otto Stein.

The Department of Fine Arts encompasses the traditional fields of
painting, sculpture as well as mixed media, audio visual art,
performance and digital media.

The Department of Design concentrates its study programme on the aspects of communication design, media design and product design.

In 2007/8, the HBK Saar introduced a new interdisciplinary degree program in Media Art and Design, characterized by the interdisciplinary integration of a wide range of creative competencies and conceptual perspectives and including a focus on light, media, and sound art, interactive productions, short experimental formats across the entire range of visual media (including film, 2D/3D, virtual worlds) and online applications.

External Links

  • HBKsaar - Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar
  • xm:lab - Experimental Media Lab
  • dpz - Digitales Produktionszentrum


  1. Gorm Hasselhoff
  2. ekmel ertan
  3. Dorothee de Coster
  4. Andrew Price
  5. philipp simon
  6. Nina
  7. Jan Sprengard
  8. Shiruriru
  9. Fedor Belenky
  10. D_signer
  11. Marvin Brendel
  12. Akosua Adu-Sanyah
  13. Nikolaj Woroschilow
  14. Lisa Marie Schmitt
  15. Jan Tretschok
  16. Ting Tan
  17. Majid KS
  18. m nolte

+ See all 33