John Jesurun PRO

New York

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

John Jesurun is a playwright,director,designer-
B.F.A. Philadelphia College of Art/1972. M.F.A. in Sculpture from Yale University/ 1974. 1976-79/Television Content Analyst for CBS.1979-82-Assistant to producer/ Dick Cavett Show.In 1982 he began began his highly acclaimed serial play CHANG IN A VOID MOON, now in its 60th episode. (Bessie Award). Since 1984 he has written,directed and designed over 30 pieces including: the media trilogy of DEEP SLEEP (1986 Obie Award, Best Play), WHITE WATER, BLACK MARIA , NUMBER MINUS ONE, DOG’S EYE VIEW, RED HOUSE, SHATTERHAND MASSACREE,FAUST/HOW I ROSE, EVERYTHING THAT RISES MUST CONVERGE, SLIGHT RETURN, IRON LUNG, BARDO and SNOW,FAUST/HOW I ROSE. His company has toured extensively in Europe and the United States. His work has been presented by numerous venues including La Mama, the Kitchen, the Walker Arts Center, the Wexner Center, Mickery Theater, Royal Festival Hall/London, Theater am Turm, National Theater Company of Mexico,Brooklyn Academy of Music,Vienna Festival and Spoleto USA. His short films have been shown at festivals and alternative spaces around the country. Recipient of numerous grants including the NEA Visual and Media Arts, Asian Cultural Council, BAM/Lucent Technologies Arts in Multimedia. He has also received the Rockefeller, MacArthur,Guggenheim, NYFA, NEA, Foundation for Contemporary Performance Arts fellowships. He has taught theater at Goethe University/ Frankfurt, Justus Liebig University/ Giessen, DASARTS/Amsterdam,New York University,Tokyo University and Kyoto University of Art and Design.His work is published by Performing Arts Journal,Ediciones El Milagro, Theater Communications Group, Sun and Moon Press, Yale Theater Magazine and Felix. Recent projects, Harry Partch’s opera “Delusion of the Fury”,Japan Society, PHILOKTETES, Soho Rep, FIREFALL at DTW, LIZ ONE at the Chocolate Factory. Two new text collections, Performing Arts Journal and No Passport Press.

External Links


  1. Stream Team
  2. Daniel Allen Nelson
  3. Genki Ito