Bern, Switzerland

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

"In the wide worlds between synth pop and new wave, Magnetfisch have sort of created an own segment by combining guitars and synthesizers in their own way."

Back in 1994 in Switzerland, Patrick Scherrer and Timothee Barrelet found a first band with fellow schoolmate Wolfgang Schubert, ("Sad Salads", what a name!?), which later became wave rock combo "Illusion Perdue?". Michael Bieri, Raphael Winkler and Pascal Singeisen join in, progressively. Nomen est omen, after there first and last album "Un pied devant l'autre", recorded at Studio Relief (The Young Gods,...), "Illusion Perdue?" disbands in 1997.

At a New Model Army Gig in 1998, Patrick and Timothee decide to found a new band. In summer 2001, they record the first Magnetfisch full length album "Fruchtkoenig" at Marco Liechti's "Luce Studios". 2002 Rolf Althaus joins in as a bass guitar player, the band is signed by Heiri Duerst (VSM) to his label Helvetic Production. In the second half of 2002, keyboard player Timothee supports fellow Swiss Band "Predominant Lunatics" (known today as Cold Wave Act "Fakir", with Thierry Pache) during their tour in London and Switzerland.

In 2003 Magnetfisch record their second album, "Silence Fiction" at Luce Studios. In the two special shows "Electronica meets Poetry", poems by Swiss writer Pedro Lenz alternate with the bands instrumental songs. In 2004, female singer Seline Kunz joins the band. Together, they record the EP "Botox" in 2005 and do club gigs, radio appearances and festivals in Switzerland. In 2007, Magnetfisch record the official remix of "Roulette" by And Also The Trees, for which they meet the band on some occasions. In 2008 unfortunately, Helvetic Production label owner Heiri Duerst leaves this world. The planned album is delayed, but the band is signed for two other years by crossmusic (Heiris former assistant Richard Bystricky).

With thumbs up from AATT, "Roulette" is put on the next full length album "Body on the Left, Soul on the Right" (recorded by Breandan Davey), which is finally released in 2009. Simon Huw Jones is later featured on a song by Selines long time singer-songwriter project Lena Fennell (nauticus). Since she increasingly needs more time for her solo career, this leads to a parting of ways. The band also leaves crossmusic.

Thus, back to their roots, Magnetfisch are instrumental and DIY again. But they also find a new source of creative energy in 2010: They first release their EP "The Early Years 1998-2000"), a selection of seven songs from the starting period of the band, followed by the EP "some very old songs". With Benjamin Stoll, they record their third EP "The Chexbres Trilogy" in spring 2011, and then "Rarotonga" in fall 2012. In an intense collaboration, remixes and reworks are regularly being made by Swiss dark techno/house video artist The Web ( and Australian singer-songwriter CXXXVI. Magnetfisch are currently preparing for gigs in Switzerland 2013, as well as working on their next release in 2014.

Patrick Scherrer - guitar
Timothee Barrelet - synthesizers, programming
Rolf Althaus - bass

External Links


  1. Nancy Hoang
  2. BLR_VFX
  3. Sidewalk Hustle
  4. DLSO
  5. Neonized
  6. David Board
  7. alltomorrowmusic
  8. Patrick Vollmer
  9. Leslie Von Dees
  10. melodic predator
  11. Yoshiyuki Ota
  12. ISIAQ
  13. TruthSeekerUK
  14. GhostShadow
  15. Tine Beutel
  16. THE WEB
  17. Felix Dumeril
  18. JAXART

+ See all 30

Featured Videos

Recently Uploaded

+ See all 9 videos

Recent Activity

  1. Magnetfisch commented on IDIOTS
    LOL! iMagination will save us all :-)