Stellar Young

Albany, NY

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

A multi-genre infused indie rock group based out of Albany, NY, Stellar Young blends their catchy, melodic signature with such varied influences as ambient rock, dance, jazz, hip-hop and folk. Stellar Young feature the talents of John Glenn (vocals/keyboard), Erik Flora (guitar/vocals), Kyle Hatch (guitar) and Dave Parker (bass/synth). The group has shared the stage with The Dirty Heads, We The Kings, Bret Michaels, San Cisco, Terraplane Sun, The Features, Civil Twilight, Weerd Science, and The Front Bottoms. Property of Zack called the band "...engaging enough to garner mainstream indie rock fans attention and intricate enough to please music snobs.”

After John Glenn moved from Austin, TX to Middletown, New York in 2001 he met Erik Flora; with their shared passion for music, they started their first band sophomore year of High School in 2004 and have been playing music together ever since. During Glenn and Flora's college years they met guitarist Kyle Hatch and asked him to fill in a newly vacant spot on bass. Overtime Glenn decided to switch from guitar to keys, and Hatch moved from bass to guitar.

The final piece to the puzzle was found with Dave Parker, who happened to catch an acoustic set of theirs at an open mic in Albany. Parker was able to take over the bass position full time. Dave’s touring experience with bands such as Coheed & Cambria and producing/performance credits with Weerd Science have since brought a wealth of knowledge and insight to the group. Parker also works as an audio engineer and producer for Stellar Young’s records.

Albany has named Stellar Young, Best New Band and Best Indie Rock Band in the Metroland 2012, 2013, and 2014 "Best of" and "Readers' Poll" editions. The guys have secured regular rotation at many local stations (WEXT, WEQX, and WRPI) and stations around the Northeast (WONY, WSUB-LP, and WFNP).

Stellar Young's last album, "Everything at Once" released in December of 2012, has gone on to be featured on such music sites as Property of Zack, Alternative Press, Bandcamp’s Best and Under the Gun Review. The album was also given a high rating of 9/10 on both Ampkicker and Mind Equals Blown. Their highly anticipated new album "Vessels" will be released December 2014.

External Links