The Size Queens Plus

San Francisco

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

In late fall 2005, songwriters Adam Klein and Michael Mullen convened in San Francisco to begin writing their first record. They set up shop at Tim Mooney's Closer Recording and appointed Mooney their producer and recording engineer. The three friends then swung open the studio doors to an evolving line-up of musicians who would participate in the making of a record. In the midst of America's darkest hour under the Bush/Cheney regime, Klein and Mullen anointed themselves with the American slang term, The Size Queens, as an oblique reference to the queen-sized international influence of the American empire. Offering a blistering commentary on American culture as seen through a global lens, this band of loose-knit collaborators had developed its conceptual and pragmatic approach to making music. Their cheekily titled first record, "Is It IN Yet?," was released on January 14, 2006 and, thus, The Size Queens project officially began. Their second record, "Magic Dollar Shoppe," was released April 14, 2008 and in the spring of 2009 the band debuted new songs on an EP commissioned by Princeton University and The University of Chicago for the academic performance event, "Our Literal Speed." Their epic 15-song, "III," was released one year later as part of the exhibition catalogue for SF Camerawork's "An Autobiography of the San Francisco Bay Area, Part 1: San Francisco Plays Itself" and on September 11, 2011 the band issued their plaintive, but unsettling fourth studio record "Appetite for Redaction."

Following the untimely passing of longtime collaborator, co-conspirator, and producer Tim Mooney in June 2012, the band reconvened at Wally Sound in Oakland, California to record their fifth full-length record, the 48-minute song cycle titled "Consumption Work: Tammy, Cybertariat, At The Aral Sea." After an unexpected successful Kickstarter campaign (initially designed by the band to fail), the record was released as a 60-minute movie and premiered on U.S. Election Day, November 6, 2012. They returned to Wally Sound to record their sixth record, "Save the Plant!" It was released on March 20, 2014 (the anniversary of Aum Shinrikyo’s Tokyo subway sarin attack—alluded to in the song “Onomanakanamana”) with the dedication: "For everyone incarcerated, literally & metaphorically, facing incarceration, fighting incarceration. Save The Plant!"

Throughout the band’s career, video premieres have been hosted online by Electric Literature, The Ninth Letter, Pank, and Johns Hopkins University’s The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review. In addition, The Size Queens project has stretched to include various artists, writers, filmmakers, and musicians including: Laura Albert; Liz Bull; Nicole Brodsky; Mike Carnahan; Sara Cassetti; Tony Cokes; Chip Dalby; Carlos Forster; Ari Gold; Ethan Gold; Guillermo Gómez-Peña; Michael Goorjian; Laura Hanna; Patrick Hillman; Roshy Kheshti; Torsten Kretchmar; Pete Maloney; Hannah Marcus; Darcy McKinnon; Chuck Mobley; Tim Mooney; Abel Mouton; John Murry; Danny Pearson; Scott Pearson; Dale Pickard; Matt Seiling; Wally Sound; Glen Swarts; Terese Taylor; and David Weinman.

External Links


  1. kevin doyle
  2. James Hosking
  3. Zack Godshall
  4. Bug Davidson