Jon East Plus

London, United Kingdom.

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

Jon East is a British television and film drama director, who has also produced and executive produced several award-winning programmes. Jon started work in the industry as a film editor and has also worked as the Chief Storyline Writer on the BBC's flagship EASTENDERS and as a storyboard and concept artist for TV, music promos and commercials. Between 2005 and 2008 he ran the BBC Children's Drama and Animation Department.

For direction, he has been BAFTA nominated twice and won the award for single film THAT SUMMER DAY - which controversially tackled the July 05 London bombings. He was also nominated at the Venice Biennale for the SILVER LION, with his 35mm short, IT CAN BE DONE.

Recent Years:

In 2011 Jon storylined series 2 of THE SPARTICLE MYSTERY with writer Alison Hume and directed the 2 part series finale of WHITECHAPEL III.

In 2012 Jon directed a three part adaptation for Carnival/ITV of Blake Morrison's novel THE LAST WEEKEND. He also co-executive produced series 2 of THE SPARTICLE MYSTERY for Sparticles Productions/BBC and directed the final four 30' episodes.

In 2013 Jon directed four of the six episodes of ITV's gothic crime series WHITECHAPEL and the 2hr Christmas Special of DOWNTON ABBEY for Carnival/ITV.

In 2014 Jon directed the first three and last four episodes of CRITICAL, a groundbreaking new medical drama for Hattrick/SKY1HD.

In 2015 Jon is working as lead director on ITV's ambitious 13 part adaptation of the mythic BEOWULF. He is also directing two episodes of 'LUCKY MAN' for Carnival/SKY, a new sci-fi cop thriller series starring James Nesbitt and created by the legendary Stan 'The Man' Lee, (of Marvel Comics fame). Jon is also directing one of two 2hr films for ITV starring Rowan Atkinson as the eponymous 1950s Parisian detective MAIGRET.

Jon East
+44 7973 631 884

Hugo Young at Independent Talent
+44 207 636 6565


  1. Karel Bata
  2. Olivia Thompson
  3. Helen Chapman
  4. Clare Kissane
  5. Helen Chapman
  6. Ian Farr Editor
  7. Stephen Smallwood
  8. Alison Hume
  9. le parc stephane
  10. Martin Sharpe
  11. mike spragg
  12. Sean Van Hales
  13. paul laugier
  14. Walter Mcgill
  15. John Collins
  16. Christian Jelen
  17. Mark Davis
  18. Dominic Clemence

+ See all 20