There’s a great feeling that comes from collaborating with a good team. While you can already add team members to your Vimeo account, now you can collaborate even better on private projects with an all-new team role: contributors.
When you invite a contributor to a private project (formerly called folders), they can upload, manage, and replace videos within that specific project. Because contributors have access to specific projects, those projects serve as private workspaces for your team. Want Client A, or a specific team member, to have access to the videos in their private project, but not the videos in Client B’s project? Contributors are perfect for that. They allow more flexibility within your team and more privacy for your account.
To get started, you can add new contributors by clicking the + icon within a project. (While anyone can organize their videos into private projects, the ability to add team members to specific projects is available to Vimeo PRO, Business, and live plans.)
Coupled with video history, which lets you track changes made by team members to your videos and projects, team collaboration is easier than ever. Now you can see updates to your videos in one place, from updating a thumbnail, to adding videos to a project, to reviewing notes left on previous versions of a video.
And all of it happens from your Videos page, making your workflow simpler and more powerful.
If team accounts are totally new to you, here’s a handy guide to all the team permissions available:
- Uploaders: can only upload videos to your account (without being able to take any other action on those videos, or see your account). Videos that uploaders add will appear in All videos.
- Contributors: can upload, replace, embed, and manage settings for videos within the specific project they’re invited to. They can’t see other projects or videos, and can’t invite other contributors.
- Admins: can see all of your videos, add contributors to projects, and take all the same actions on them as you can. They don’t have access to your account credentials or billing information.
Let us know how this helps you and your team, and feel free to head to our Help Center with any questions about team permissions.