As we publish content on the world wide web, exposing parts of our personal lives and creative projects, privacy becomes an important consideration of our process. Maybe you’re working on a draft of a promotional video, and only want a certain project manager at a company to see it. Or maybe you’re creating educational content that can be public, but you only want people to view it on your own website, off of the Vimeo website.
All of these scenarios and more are possible with Vimeo’s privacy settings, whether it’s for your individual one-off videos, or a video in an embeddable playlist. We’ll break it down for you to make sure that you can keep your videos as secret — or public — as you need them to be.
Individual video privacy settings
You can make sure that only certain people see your videos by setting them to a specific setting. Everyone who uploads a video on Vimeo has access to the following settings:
- Anyone means that anyone (yes, anyone) can watch your video.
- Only me is exactly what it sounds like — only you (when you are logged into your account) can see your video.
- If you set your video to Only people I follow, only the people you follow on Vimeo can see this video, and it will appear in their feeds.
- To choose only specific Vimeo members that you’d like to be able to see your videos, select the Only people I choose privacy option. (Your viewers will need to have a Vimeo account for this one.)
- And Only people with a password will allow you to add a password for viewers to gain access to your video, including Vimeo and non-Vimeo members.
You also have access to set your embed privacy to Anywhere which means that anyone can embed your video on an external website. Or you can set your embed privacy to Nowhere, which means no one can embed your video on an external website. Pretty easy, right?
However, if you are a Plus user or have a higher-tier paid subscription (such as Pro, Business, or Premium), you will also have access to a couple additional, granular privacy settings:
- Only people with the private link is a semi-private setting that will make your individual video visible only to people who have the link. Your video’s credits will be removed, and the video will be removed from any channels or groups. Please note that anyone with access to this link can share it with anyone else.
- Hide this video from vimeo.com will make the video unable to be accessed on the Vimeo website (unless you are logged in as yourself), but it still can be embedded on other websites. Your video can be added to albums and portfolios, but no other types of collections.
Paid users also have access to domain-level privacy, which means that you can choose what specific website you want to allow your video to be embedded on.
And finally, all Pro users and up have access to what we call review pages, which are semi-private video links (similar to the Only people with a private link privacy setting) that can only be viewed by the person with the link. You can remove Vimeo branding from this page and enable notes for your collaborators to add comments about what works and what doesn’t in this video cut. The only set privacy you can add to a review page is a password, so please note that anyone with this link will still be able to share it and the password with anyone else. This setting works well for collaborating with others on an unfinished version of a video.
More complex privacy settings
When it comes to albums, embeddable playlists, and projects, things get a little hairier, as these are different ways to group multiple videos.
An album can be set to public, or you can add a password to it. Like with your individual videos, anyone you share the private album’s link and password with can share it with anyone else.
Adding a private video to an album all depends on the privacy setting of the album. If you add a private video to a public album, only you and anyone with access to that individual video can see the video within the album. However, adding a private video to a private album means that anyone with the password to the album can access any private videos within (without entering additional passwords).
Once you enter embeddable playlist territory, things change a bit. Only public albums and albums set to Hide from Vimeo can be embedded, as private albums cannot be. Also, only videos with a privacy setting of Anyone or Hide this video from Vimeo.com can be displayed in an embedded playlist. But the individual video’s embed privacy setting (even domain-level privacy) will always be respected in this situation.
Pro subscribers and up can collaborate privately using Vimeo’s projects feature. By using this, you can limit access to a project that you’ve created by either adding a team member as a contributor, or by adding someone as an admin to your entire account.
So hopefully, you’ve learned a few things on how to keep your videos private, no matter what container or sharing mechanism you decide to use. Private videos or not, we hope you’ll find the best way to protect your work or expand your audience using Vimeo.
For a more granular breakdown of our privacy settings, check out our Help Center articles on an overview of all of our privacy settings, how to change your privacy settings, and what changes about the privacy of videos in your collections or review pages.